Finally I Have A Zeiss Batis 85mm

When Zeiss first announced the Batis 85mm f/1.8 last year, it was one of the lenses on my wish list, so I placed an order. However, as the weeks and months passed, I wondered if Zeiss were ever going to get enough of these lenses produced to meet the demand.

After waiting for months In the end I canceled my order as I had heard that Sony were going to release the G Master 85mm f/1.4 . So when I heard rumors that Sony were going to have both the G Master 85mm and the G Master 24mm – 70mm f/2.8 at the Photography show at the NEC in Birmingham, I could at least perhaps see  these new lenses and perhaps even test them.

So, last weekend I was able to test the Sony G Master 85mm and the Zeiss 85mm, and both are great lenses, but when the people at Zeiss informed me that the Batis was available to buy at the show and for £769 I had a long hard pause for thought at which lens would best meet my needs.

OK, so the Sony G Master 85mm f/1.4 is faster and perhaps the bokah more circular, but with the Batis available for £769 that’s half the price of the Sony G Master 85mm and both lenses render very well.

Personally the f/1.8 meets my needs and I really like the way the Batis is rendering the backgrounds when used wide open. I have only had the lens for a week, but so far I am so pleased with my purchase especially in relation to the savings I have made. Moreover, with the new Sony 85mm G Master f/1.4 is listed at £1500 that’s a lot of money for a prime in my opinion, but then the Zeiss Otus  85mm is not cheap at £3600.

Even though I have only used the lens a few times, I can honestly say it’s worth every penny and it suits the A7 series of camera very well in terms of size and weight.

Anyway, two shots below, One natural light taken a day after I purchased the Batis with Fran when we went to Witley Court on the way back up to Leeds.

Fran witley fuji velv Web

The Batis used with off camera flash today at Old Moor in south Yorkshire.

Graham3 Web

I am sure the Sony G Master will win many hearts and minds, but is the lens worth £1500? I guess it depends on your needs and pocket. The Zeiss Batis should not be neglected though, it’s still a fantastic lens and if you can buy one for less than £900, it’s a no brainer really.

 

Author: Fletcher K2Photographic

Fletcher is a Freelance photographer with images featured in Yachts and Yachting, Yorkshire Life Magazine and Equine Health Thoroughbred Owner and Breader. Commissioned work has included the Land Rover Burghley International Horse Trials; Bramham International Horse Trials; Hickstead Derby; The Motocross Nationals; Roger Albert Clark Rally; and the Pirelli Rally. Photography is his passion which is demonstrated through his work.

Leave a Reply

