85mm f/1.4 Lenses

sigma_85mm_f1_4

After seeing numerous images taken with 85mm f/1.4 lenses, I concluded that this was going to be my next lens purchase and although I am currently shooting APS-C, I concluded that I could have the best of both worlds when Pentax finally does make a FF model. Personally, I just love the look that a f/1.4 85mm prime gives, but this is just my personal taste.

A week ago or so I was contemplating which 85mm lens to buy, the Pentax FA 85mm f/1.4 or the Sigma 85mm f/1.4? As both of these lenses have a good reputation and I don’t shoot Nikon, Canon or Sony, my choice was either the Pentax FA 85 or the Sigma 85. I had spent a lot of time reading forums asking other people their opinions and looking at the various reviews of 85mm lenses out there and this did include Nikon, Canon as these two brands popped up in search engines, so I read the reviews even though I knew I could not use them on my camera.

In the end I decided to go with the Sigma 85. My reasons for choosing the Sigma? The price was lower than the FA 85mm and I would have a 3 year guarantee with the Sigma. Furthermore, the Sigma has been designed for digital, so it seemed logical that it would be better suited to digital unlike the FA. I think the thing that surprised me about the Sigma, is how highly regarded it is, even by Canon and Nikon shooters and although this may also be down to the price, there’s no doubting the IQ quality of the Sigma.

It would appear that Sigma are now producing some excellent glass which is as good as other brands if not better at a lower cost too, but despite the quality and improvements Sigma make, some will still overlook their lenses.

I took a trip out to the West Yorkshire Sculpture Park on Saturday afternoon and decided to explore some of the beaten track areas, discovering some great locations for future portraits. I hope to get a few portraits over the next few weeks to show the potential of this lens.

Fletcher done1 FB

So far, I really like this lens and its focal length, it is providing my photography with a new look which was what I was after, it is as good as all of the other highly regarded f/1.4 85mm lenses? I think it certainly gives them a run for their money.

Author: Fletcher K2Photographic

Fletcher is a Freelance photographer with images featured in Yachts and Yachting, Yorkshire Life Magazine and Equine Health Thoroughbred Owner and Breader. Commissioned work has included the Land Rover Burghley International Horse Trials; Bramham International Horse Trials; Hickstead Derby; The Motocross Nationals; Roger Albert Clark Rally; and the Pirelli Rally. Photography is his passion which is demonstrated through his work.

Leave a Reply

