Conceptual Photography, My Thoughts & First Image

Whenever I hear the news I hear the term spending cuts and job redundancies. Ironically at the same time I hear the words profits and bonuses. I read an article the other day of a recent interview with Don McCullin, he stated, “I don’t see enough people chronicling Britain and the divisions appearing in society.

Spending Cuts FB

Don McCullin’s statement really got me thinking about the point he was making in relation to photography and it seemed to strike a nerve in my body. I have never tried any conceptual photography before, so this is my my first conceptual effort in relation to the nerve that was struck.

Don McCullin was a photojournalist who worked in a time when issues were documented which often hit people in the face. Don produced images of the marginalised, the impoverished and victims of war. Such powerful images are less seen in todays media as we favour images of celebrities and bling, I guess the lesson I learned was that I should put more effort and thought into capturing emotion in the images I take. This also made me think a lot more about the things i don’t photograph and explore some of the reasons why together with reasons why I should do.

Author: Fletcher K2Photographic

Fletcher is a Freelance photographer with images featured in Yachts and Yachting, Yorkshire Life Magazine and Equine Health Thoroughbred Owner and Breader. Commissioned work has included the Land Rover Burghley International Horse Trials; Bramham International Horse Trials; Hickstead Derby; The Motocross Nationals; Roger Albert Clark Rally; and the Pirelli Rally. Photography is his passion which is demonstrated through his work.

Leave a Reply

