One Green Bottle Lit Through Improvising

I decided to have another go at lighting bottles of liquid, this time a bottle of Whisky. I have a very small piece of black reflective perspex, but I is not really big enough for the type of images i would like to shoot. From the image I posted yesterday. a guy called Ralph Hardwick sent me a link that was very informative http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIm-SZHKOW4

Whisky

Anyway,here is my take on the above link, I did not light the background as I liked the light fall off. I used an old net curtain to defuse the light as i did not have a roll of tracing paper. using this technique really improved the lighting on the edge of the bottle and I think i will try the shot i took yesterday with this technique. I think tracing paper would be better, so i will have to buy some and see. I also should buy a bigger sheet of black reflective perspex.

I am certainly pleased with the results I am getting and I am improving and learning every time i light something. One of the problems I experienced was trying to get the lighting in the right place and as i am limited to the kit I have, I have to do a lot of improvising which leads to a lot of trial and error, but when it comes together its rewarding.

I Am going to try lighting some watches later this afternoon and see how I get on. The 50 portraits in fifty day is on hold until the weekend, I just hope the weather improves.

If anyone has any questions or comments please ask or post in relation to lighting products please do so.

Fletcher

Author: Fletcher K2Photographic

Fletcher is a Freelance photographer with images featured in Yachts and Yachting, Yorkshire Life Magazine and Equine Health Thoroughbred Owner and Breader. Commissioned work has included the Land Rover Burghley International Horse Trials; Bramham International Horse Trials; Hickstead Derby; The Motocross Nationals; Roger Albert Clark Rally; and the Pirelli Rally. Photography is his passion which is demonstrated through his work.

Leave a Reply

