Full Frame Dilemma

Full Frame Dilemma

After 17 years of being a full time Youth Worker I am now in the deep end in terms of employment (no regular wage) I guess due to public spending cuts their will be many others who will find themselves thrust into change. Anyway, as I change direction in my venture in trying to become a full time Freelance photographer, I am both excited and nervous all at the same time.

I shot my first Christening on the 15th of September as a second tog, which was a valuable experience, I guess it made me think about the camera kit I have and the camera kit I will need in the future. As I currently shoot APS-C from the Christening shoot I would certainly benefit from a full frame camera where I could easily shoot at ISO 2500 and not have to worry at all. Unfortunately Pentax currently to not make a full frame, so I thought it is either Nikon or Canon right?

As my needs for full frame are higher ISO and more control over depth of field, I looked at the following Cameras

Canon 5DMklll
Canon 6D
Nikon D600
Nikon D800

I had a chance to have a play with the Canon 5DMklll and although it is no doubt a great camera, I just did not like it personally, it just did not feel right. After researching the Canon 6D, I concluded that it would not meet all of my needs and its focus system seemed very limited. The Nikon D800 is just too big a camera body wise and don’t think I really need 36 mega pixels? The Nikon D600 is a very interesting little camera and for the price provides a great deal so I really started seriously considering buying one. However, my excitement was squashed as I read lots of reports relating to issues of oil and dust on the sensor. I was disappointed as I concluded the camera I would buy seemed to have a lot of issues and the camera I most want (a Pentax full frame) is not in production. According to rumors on the web, the good news is that the Nikon D610 is due for release in October, which addresses the issues of the D600. Why am writing about this? Well sometimes we don’t appreciate what gear we do have and what it is capable of. The image above was pushing the limits of my K5lls in terms of ISO (3200) but I think the image is acceptable in relation to the camera I had at the time and the conditions I faced.

The image is a candid whilst I was at the Christening. Pentax K5lls, DA* 50mm-135mm, ISO 3200, converted to B&W in Photoshop. I think the quality is acceptable for an APS-C camera.

Author: Fletcher K2Photographic

Fletcher is a Freelance photographer with images featured in Yachts and Yachting, Yorkshire Life Magazine and Equine Health Thoroughbred Owner and Breader. Commissioned work has included the Land Rover Burghley International Horse Trials; Bramham International Horse Trials; Hickstead Derby; The Motocross Nationals; Roger Albert Clark Rally; and the Pirelli Rally. Photography is his passion which is demonstrated through his work.

1 thought on “Full Frame Dilemma”

Leave a Reply

